My beloved country

‘’Nigeria my beloved country

Working together is the key

Nigeria my beloved country

Our future is you and me’’

This was a song by Funmi Adams for Nigeria and many seem not to listen to songs like this again due to evolution of songs by modern artists. I used to listen to this song when I was little, and I had an uncle then who helped me to memorise the lyrics of the songs so much that it became my favourite song and I sang it almost everywhere I went.

If only GEJ would listen to this song and also listen to great nation by Timi Dakolo, he would probably gather some motivation to act up. Motivation to address the situation at hand with wisdom and proper sense, everyone keeps saying we need prayers, of course we do but then what will the prayer do if the so called leaders are busy spending lavishly when in fact they should be protecting masses. It’s just like going to an exam but you decide not to read and say I’ll just keep praying which kain miracle you dey find? Dame patience keeps shouting that pastor Adeboye has prayed for her husband well good enough he has, but still Nigeria needs strong leaders, leaders who have a sense of direction, leaders who understand the meaning of prioritising, leaders who would put the interest of the public over their selfish desires, leaders who would not put the life of people at risk all in the name of money.

153 people died!!! That is just saddening, everyone keeps saying GEJ was not the pilot but have they for once thought of the fact that he is the president and that he has power over every sector in the country, have they thought of the fact that he could have banned that plane from operating due to its malfunctioning, have they thought of the fact that instead of buying stupid private jets he could have tried to grant subsidies to the aviation sector, so they can get new air planes. The plane was 22 years old, if people are not allowed to bring in cars of more than 15 years why then would you allow a plane of 22 years to fly, yet again it all dies down to selfish desires. Then people blame Dana air for being selfish and considering profit, of course they would when the so called leaders of their country aren’t any better than them. They all spend money lavishly on luxuries, send their children to the best schools, and drive the best cars while the people they serve wallow in poverty.  If GEJ had sense of direction, he probably would have noticed things like Dana air plane of over 22 years and not things like changing the name of a University. Then he thinks of going for 2015, gosh the love of money is the root of evil indeed because if he loves this country as he claims, he would not even venture into thinking of another term. Fair enough, they are now taking actions, but these should have been taken long time ago, human lives do not need to be lost before the leaders take actions.

Am not blaming GEJ for the loss, because I get the fact that corruption is what made the owners of the airline put the lives of 153 people at risk, but if the government is going to stop corruption from happening then it should start from the government itself. You can’t be a corrupt leader and try to lead your people from corruption, No! You lead yourself out first and then you can bring your followers out. I think the main solution to this is to wipe out all these corrupt leaders especially all those PDP members because the government basically revolves round them and Jona was just a scape goat that was used to carry out their selfish and wicked acts. If he loves himself, I say again if Goodluck Eberechuckwu Jonathan loves himself, he should not go for another term. Simples!

I know my ranting will not bring back these lives, neither will it console their families but I just thought I needed to voice out my opinion (which I feel is the truth) to clear my mind even if it means pouring my heart out on my blog at least that’s my best friend for now. May all the souls of those that departed rest in peace, and may God keep and guide the families they left behind.

 

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 11:39:39

    Nigerian leaders need to get their acts together because it’s no longer about prayers, it’s about taking steps towards a better Nigeria. Well said bbe

    Reply

  2. BiiBii
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 01:04:35

    Reblogged this on **Bheebii**.

    Reply

  3. Adewunmi
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 08:46:48

    hmmmm…..you got me speechless on this one

    Reply

  4. Femi Alofe
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 22:36:27

    Can i get the full lyrics of the song – nigeria my beloved country by funmi adams? I will be happy..

    Reply

  5. tolu
    May 13, 2013 @ 20:48:05

    Please can you take out d time and love for a patrotic citizen and send me the lyrics of the song “Nigeria my Country” by funmi Adams?

    Reply

    • Femi Alofe
      May 14, 2013 @ 12:10:48

      Tolu, If I can get you very well, you are requesting for the lyrics of the song? If yes, let me know and I will respond.
      Thanks

      Reply

    • David
      Sep 23, 2013 @ 11:05:33

      I know a lot about my country
      I know a lot because i care,
      I know a lot about my people
      I know a lot because i care.

      Nigeria my beloved country
      working together is the key
      Nigeria my beloved country
      our future is you and me.

      Let’s talk how on angels grow
      all because your honest grow or
      expecting hope now grow one
      the name is known

      I know we have a great potential
      to do more than just some bad
      Lets build up our strength and bright
      Trust in your to be alright.

      Reply

  6. daniel
    May 24, 2013 @ 21:11:02

    i know a lot about my country i know a lot because i care, i know a lot about my people i know a lot because i care. Nigeria my beloved country working together is the key,Nigeria my beloved country our future is you and me. let talk how on angels grow all because your honest grow or expecting hope now grow one the name is know. i know we have a great potential to do more than just some bad, let build up our strength and bright,trust in your to be alright……@beth bhee i am not too sure about dis lyrics.

    Reply

  7. ikhuiwurefe Pretty
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 10:24:02

    I know a lot about my country, I know a lot because I care, I know a lot about my people, I know a lot because I care, Nigeria my beloved country, working together is the key, Nigeria my beloved country our future is you and me. Land of iron, land of gold, agriculture, oil and coal, land of prospects and……..round the world our name is known. Nigeria my beloved…….I know we have a great potential, to do more than just survive, lets build up our strength and pride, trusting God to be our guide.

    Reply

  8. ikhuiwurefe Pretty
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 10:25:37

    am not too sure about some lines in the 2nd verse. am still trying to get it all together

    Reply

Leave a Reply

